It Was a Team Effort

Yesterday, I participated in commencement for the largest graduating class ever of The Ohio State University, totaling more than 11,700 graduates. I was proud to sport a cap and gown with these bright minds! 

Since the start of my junior year at OSU three years ago, I have been anxiously awaiting yesterday. Classes consumed my life and I found it incredibly difficult to put time anywhere other than the campus Agricultural Engineering building. Coursework was difficult and stressful. I can honestly say that I considered dropping engineering for another degree after my third year. My GPA dropped a large amount. I lost a significant scholarship. I was incredibly discouraged.

Which is why yesterday was so satisfying. When I was questioning my schooling the most, God gave me a good engineering internship that provided me the real world experience I needed to push forward in my degree field. He gave me friends that encouraged me and helped me academically. He gave me an incredible family that supported me even when they didn’t see me for a week. 

But what He taught me was that if I am doing what is within His plan, He will provide me the tools and people necessary to persevere, especially when I’m discouraged. He humbled me to realize I couldn’t do it by myself and seeking help from fellow students and professors was okay. 

One week from ​today I begin a full-time job as a design engineer with the company at which I interned. God is faithful!

If you’re a fellow graduate who doesn’t have a job yet, trust God’s timing. He has sustained me and will sustain you. If you are where He wants you, He will provide! And if you aren’t, He will still provide! Just don’t be passive. Be active and seek His will.

Praise God for what he has done and continues to do! It tastes so sweet to be an alumni of The Ohio State University! 

Till next time,

-Caleb

Thank Yous
To my sister, Atalie, you were the one that helped me be positive when I arrived home after 16-hour days at school. To my brother, Josiah, you helped motivate me by saying you were proud of me. To my fake sister, Mary Frances, you made me feel smart whenever you looked at my homework. To my future wife, Bailey, you truly were my motivation to complete my degree and obtain a job. And your confidence in me over the past two and a half years has greatly helped. To my aunts, uncles, grandparents and cousins, you showed interest in my life by asking about how school was going and listening if I talked about my discouragement. To my close friends, you reminded me that we’re in this life together and taught me how to be compassionate. Most of all, to my parents, Rick and Patricia, you taught me to push through the rough spots, encouraging me all the way, making me lunch when I didn’t have time, leaving dinner for when I got home late, helping me in school financially, and pointing me to God when I was stressed. You all have been blessings to me! 

2 thoughts on “It Was a Team Effort

  1. Pingback: 5 Ways Life is Different since June and 4 Ways It’s Not | The Buckeye Beacon

Leave a comment